Some people like to keep a record of their own experiences by uploading pictures and other
information to social-networking sites. Other people prefer not to create such records. Which
approach do you prefer, and why?
Some memories are beautiful, and looking at the previous memories brings about a nostalgic
sense of delight. Humans have always cared about adopting convenient approaches for keeping
records of their beautiful memories. With the emergence of technology, people have been
provided with the chance to share their memories with others on the social media. While some
people prefer to upload their pictures and daily experiences with the public, others stand at the
other side of the continuum, believing that keeping such records on the Internet is not a wise
idea. As for my opinion, I subscribe to the latter idea and I vehemently cling to the notion that
daily memories should not be shared on social-networking sites. In the following paragraphs, I
will delve into two of my most prominent reasons for advocating this viewpoint.
First and foremost, individuals must always bear in mind that publishing personal information
might pose a threat to one's personal security and safety. In other words, in this hectic modern
era, there is always a possibility for the uploaded pictures and memories to be extracted and
abused by hackers and highly-talented programmers. Having been provided with an advanced
technology and its ever-increasing pace of improvements, one can easily take personal
advantages of another individual's private information, which, in turn, might be used against the
latter and violate the privacy. An example can drive this notion home. One of my friends had a
guy enemy in high school. He was a smart sociopath who had decided to turn her life into a
misery. Therefore, he decided to gather some personal information about her and misuse them.
Unfortunately, my friend had the tendency to post everything on her Facebook account, which
made it easy for the sociopath to easily discover her likes and dislikes, favorite places, close
friends, etc. Accordingly, he could deceive her into falling in love with him, and eventually treating
her in the worst way possible, by putting her in embarrassing situations such as sending her
personal pictures to her parents. This example clearly illustrates that in order to secure our
personal safety, we must avoid sharing our personal information and memories on the social
media, for many evil-hearted people might take advantage of them.
Another equally compelling reason in corroborating my stance lies in the fact that uploading
pictures and posting daily memories can be addictive and might take away the true joy of those
experiences. To be more specific, when people have the urge to upload their pictures on a
platform, such as Instagram, they might forget the actual concept of experiencing new things and
creating beautiful memories, and might only think about getting more encouraging comments
and likes, whereas not having the tendency to keep records of experiences by putting the
associated pictures on the social media reminds people of embracing the present, enjoying the
current experiences, and not thinking about taking an aesthetic photo in order to post on thesocial-networking sites. My personal example is a compelling reason of what I mean. When I was
in high school, I had an Instagram account, on which I used to post daily pictures of everything I
did. This habit of mine prevented me from truly enjoying my moments. When I decided to try not
posting pictures on a social media, I discovered the sheer joy of any experience I had. In fact, I
had learnt to make the best out of my time and moments, and occasionally take some pictures
only for the purpose of capturing the memories and going through the pictures later, not posting
them on the social media.