Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

The choice of whether or not giving money to beggars totally depends on the one who offers. however, the question whether the people are doing right or wrong by giving money becomes imperative. personally, I believe it is a wrong decision to offer money to the beggars on the street. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, a small offering today by a person to the poor can become a habit of tomorrow. Hence, beggars would start thinking that they can easily earn money by begging and there is no need to do work to earn their living. For instance, I recently visited Haridwar a Hindu pilgrimage place. I went there to take a bath in the holy water of river Ganga. there I found that on ghats plenty of beggars are sitting on the stairs asking for the money, seeing their pathetic situation I was influenced and agreed to offer them money. however, I visited the same place again and was amazed to see the beggar whom I gave money yesterday was today eating lunch in a restaurant and is in a a lot better condition which I saw yesterday. this made me wonder that it is a wrong decision to give money to such people as they have considered begging and duping innocent people as their career and if I am giving them money I am actually promoting the culture of begging.

Secondly, due to our habit of offering money to the needy we are actually harming the life of some children. seeing benefit in the begging culture some people has made a business out of it. As a result, many children are captured from their home and forced into this tradition, which is making their life difficult for them to live as begging cannot be the best way of earning money. my personal experience is a compelling example of this. About five years ago, an incident happened in my Uncle's home that his six year old son who was playing in the lawn suddenly, goes missing. he called my family and we looked for him everywhere but could not find him. Eventually, we went to the police to help us. police being aware of such kidnapping was easily able to trace my Uncle's son and get him back to us. The police told us that he was kidnapped by a gang which makes the children to beg and earn money for them. however, police hampered their plan. Therefore, we should always abstain from giving money because this habit might be costing someone his life.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that we should never give offerings to the poor. this is because they start to think their career in begging and because begging culture have inspired some to start a business out of it and earn some good money by using kids for begging purposes.