Some universities require students to take classes in many subjects. Other universities require students to specialize in one subject. Which is better?

There is no shortage of debate about the amount and diversity of subjects a student should take for a better education during the university. Without a question, some people would believe is better for the students to embrace as many topic as they can during his or her education; others may consider the opposite point of view and prefer to focus in their specialization. As far as I am concerned, I deeply believe the first scenario is the best option: it is better for a student to study a variety of topic when he or she attends the university. I think this way, mainly for two reasons I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, a diversity of topic can bring a better understanding of an area of expertise a student would like to embrace. In other words, different factors can affect a object of study with different result and only with the analysis of many other subjects in view it could be understood. Consequently, the study and analysis of many disciplines could bring a global point of view to understand better a phenomenon of study. For example, when I was student in an art school I was interested in music, but could no find the instrument that could be best for me. Surprisingly, when I start to study computer programming and software, I realised that my passion was composing and sound editing. In brief, I would not have the opportunity to comprehend this situation without attending a diversity of classes.

Secondly, a variety of subjects to study would bring a stronger background in knowledge and cultural support for any specialization. Moreover, study a diversity of subjects could be complementary and enrich the main topic a student is focused in. To illustrate this, lets consider my own experience. I remember to improve considerable my writing skills when I coursed journalism. The way a news should be written in a briefly space tough me how to summarise the information effectively in many of the essays and researches analysis I had elaborated later in my career.

In conclusion, I deeply believe that the requirement of some university to students to course different subjects is better than focusing in only the one. I feel this way because this would bring a better understanding of the area they are specializing, and second, because it would provide them a stronger cultural and knowledge background.