Students could receive a better, more efficient education if they spend 11 months a year studying.

As a high school student, frequent sleep deprivation is a common problem. Teachers often try to cram the overloaded amount of class material into a limited amount of time. Every year, there are so many topics that teachers need to cover and students receive far too much stress from it. If the school year is extended, then the teacher does not have to push through all the materials and students can have more time absorbing the knowledge. Students could receive a better and more efficient education if they spend 11 months a year studying because they can sleep more to stay healthy and also have more time to digest each lesson.

One can argue that having a shorter semester can allow students to get a longer break. Students can spend more time having fun and relaxing. They can visit interesting cities or spend the time to bond with friends. However, after coming back from a long break, students can find it hard to adjust to a rigorous school life. They might have difficulties staying focus in school. Furthermore, after a long period of fun, students might have forgotten previous course material, and teacher have to waste time to do a review session to refresh the students’ memories. Therefore, it is better to have a shorter break and a longer school year.

The first effect of extending the school year is the increase in the amount of sleep. Because teachers are less pressured to teach as much everyday, they do not have to assign as much work. Therefore, students can have more time to do each assignment and this can allow them to sleep earlier. Maintaining eight hours of sleep is essential for keeping a good health. It is important that our bodies receive enough sleep to be able to function properly and strengthen our immune systems. If students were constantly deprived of sleep, then they would be getting sick all the time and would not be able to concentrate in class and fully learn the class materials. It is important to stay healthy in order to succeed in school and earn a good grade. Students can focus more with more sleep so they can learn better.

In addition, another effect of spending 11 months a year studying is that students can have more time to fully understand the lessons. Since the materials can be spread over a longer time, students have more time for each lesson. Therefore, if a student has a question about any part of the material, he can spend more time to figure it out or ask his teacher. If the school year were shorter, then the student might be pressured to move on to the next lesson without even understanding the previous. This can lead to the student failing his classes. From this example, it can be seen that having more time to ask and interpret the lessons can benefit slower students and help them achieve a better education. Also, since 11 months is a lot more than a normal school year, even if the teacher teaches at a slow pace, he can still cover more material. Therefore, students can be taught more and understand more knowledge.

More sleep and more time to learn are two important benefits from extending the school year to 11 months. This can lead to a healthier lifestyle and better grades in school. In 11 months, students can learn more lessons and also be able to fully understand every one of them. Spending more time in school can help students receive a better and more efficient education.