This topic has been offered at least 2 times in the past 10 months: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have friends who are intelligent than to have friends who have a good sense of humor.

(The Preference type, both sides of the issue should be discussed)

No one can cast a shadow of doubt that friends have important roles in everyone's life. Their characteristics and life styles can significantly affect our lives, so by keeping this in mind we can say with utmost confidence that individuals must have too much care in their friends' selecting. One of the most considerable attentions made by people is that their friends must have whether a good sense of humor or smart and clever. As far as I am concerned, intelligence of our friends is a priceless characteristic inasmuch as it cannot compare with sense of humor. Astute friends not only can open a new window into the world for us, but also have an instinct ability to understand our feelings and demands.

In first place, it is not to mention that intelligence is a precious element to see deeply the world which is tied to many dilemmas and tough times. As far as dealing our hectic lives is concerned, we need to broaden our perspective to handle our problems, pass productively our hard time and so on. As we know, most people shared their concerns and problems with their friends. If their friends were unintelligent or stupid, they would receive bad guidance and tips, or even wrong ones. In contrast, if our friends had weak sense of humor, we would maybe have little fun with them, but we will not lose any essential and crucial thing. For such a required, having enjoyment times, we can do various activities like watching a comedy movie, going amusement parks and so for as often as we want.

Secondly, it is crystal clear that any close relationship will continue for a long time only if we be understood in, and friendship is no exception. There are many influential factors like cognitive bias, bad experiences, upbringing condition, to name but a few that can bring misunderstanding in different situations. These factors are with us when we pass time with our friends. Only smart people can eliminate the effect of such misleading elements. Accordingly, when we discuss our emotional feeling, concerns and do forth with them they are more able to understand us. After a short time, they learn us, they know our characters, and even they can give us some new information about our subconscious desires all of which make us comfortable and relax in friendship. Conversely, a friend who has a high sense of humor cannot easily take situations as serious as they are. Most of the time, they make all things fun, even if their friends are sad, they would make jokes. Most of them think that they can get their friends' concerns away by doing a funny job. Psychologically speaking, some worries need to examine meticulously, not take them light. If we forgot our worries by replacing our upsetting moods with happy moods, it would not have a long-term effect.

In summary, with all this taken into account, I firmly believe that as far as a good friendship is concerned, intelligence of our friends is the most important factor must be considered. Smart friends not only are able to understand us, but also can help us on the path to success. Who can in their right mind deny the valuable outcomes of being understood and receiving proper guidance in a friendship?