TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universities have long been known as centers of education and studies. Nowadays, so many people believe that universities can play an important role in encouraging the young youth to improve their social skills and sports activities. Some people, however, still think that universities are the cradles of knowledge and the government must prepare some special places for doing social and physical activities. Personally, I think that universities should give attention to both studies and social activities equally for some specific reasons.

First, social activities are one of the most important parts of every individual person’s life, especially students. Students all around the world need to communicate with different people who may have different backgrounds and cultures. Therefore, improving social skills would help them to contact others in the best possible way. For instance, I had a friend who was from Syria and she was ashamed of talking to other people. At that time, there was a club at university that students could join and practice communication and talking to others. I suggested that club to her, and after two weeks, I really felt the change in her confidence and the way she used to communicate.

Secondly, physical activities have an essential impact on our health. We need to be healthy to study and complete our educations. Hence, universities should pay attention to their students’ health. Physical activities help us to breathe more properly, stay fit, and even release the levels of stress. As an example, the first year that I entered the university, I was an over weighted person and not only had I problem in breathing, walking and even sleeping, but also I was going to be mentally sick. I always felt like others are making jokes about me and this really reduced my confidence, so I always felt stressed out. Nevertheless, after registering in the universities’ sports club and losing some weight I became more confident and calm.

In addition, time is so important for students. As we know, students need to attend classes for four or five hours, and study for something about six hours per day. Therefore, they will not be able to care about their mental and physical health so much. However, as I mentioned before, we need to be healthy to study in a sufficient way. Hence, universities have to force their students to work on their social and physical skills, and this happens when the university has some fruitful clubs for these activities because travelling to other places wastes so much time.

In conclusion, universities must receive enough financial support for sports and social activities in order to improve communications, have healthier students and avoid wasting much time. I suggest joining different clubs to all students because it will promote the development of different skills and therefore, increasing their self-confidence.