TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Families are the most important factor in our lives because they stay together and help each other in good and bad days. I currently live in a small family but in my childhood, I lived in an extended family, with my grandparents, uncle, aunt, and my cousins. I personally think extended families are better than a small family. There are numerous benefits to live in a joint family.

First of all, I used to live in a joint family and the first thing I learned is shearing and help others. These qualities are much needed in modern days as peoples usually live in small families and peoples are becoming selfish. The other thing is peoples feel more connected to their families and they help each other because they eat together and live in a same house and shear everything, the joy or the sorrow.

The second point, in a child’s education, extended families plays an important role. For example, when I was a child my grandmother used to tell stories from storybooks and that way I grow a habit of reading literature. My grandfather used to tell me histories about my country and he was the first mathematics teacher. As a child live together with other family members, they can learn the life lesson from them and they have a playing companion as a child lives with the cousins. As compared to in small family parents usually find time to play with their child as he does not have a playing companion. In my personal experience, my aunt used to take care of me while my mother was busy, and this is another positive point for a joint family. I think, for working parents, they do not need to take much pressure and does not need a babysitter if they live in an extended family, unlike small families.

Some peoples argue that there are many disadvantages while live in a joint family, like cannot eat some specific food without shearing or cannot buy clothes without giving others and sometimes it cost more. Sometimes there are misunderstandings for properties or with children. But, with all that negative points, I would say that extended families are better because they are more flexible and they stay together and an important intergraded part of our life.