TPO 21 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this sophisticated and competing world in which we are living, finding a good job can lead to a prosperous life. Some people assert that the ability to make good relationships with others is more essential for success in a future career than studying hard in school while others stand against this notion, stating that good education is more important. Personally speaking, I believe that studying hard in school is vital to future success, and I will make my side more apparent in the next paragraphs.

First, finding a proper job and advancing in every career needs detailed knowledge and information. It is crystal clear that in this challenging labor market, applying for a job requires abundant of abilities and competencies, which make one eligible for the job. The fundamental rule of the companies to recruit employees is their detailed knowledge of the job they are applied for. Although making healthy relationships and the ability to impact well on people is vital for the firms, education, and proficiency outweighs significantly. A personal example can drive my notion home. Five years ago, I applied for a job in a prominent chain-market in New York as a market manager. I had a vast network of friends who were covering a wide range of experts as market analyzers, business developers, truck drivers, etc., and this reliable network had made me confident to give the position. However, the company rejected my application, stating that I had no related education in that particular area.

Second, the modern business environment needs agile learners and adaptable individuals as fitting staff. Sophisticated software, complicated structures of teams, the interdisciplinary issues has made the current jobs more sophisticated and hard since a person should learn such software soon, adapts to the new structure of the teams involving in, and learns some related issues that had never been taught to in order to accomplish interdisciplinary projects. Therefore, the ability to learn new technology and software is of high priority in order to be successful in a job which stemmed from proper preparation and studying in schools. While a person experienced how to be hardworking and have the perseverance, he has a high chance to overcome every new situation.

In conclusion, studying hard in schools leads to exceptional ability in being an agile learner and adaptable to new situations, and it equips people with more knowledge and information which is inevitable to be successful in the future job.