TPO 28. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children's education than parents were in the past.

Parents have many responsibilities for their children. One of these duties is taking care of the educational matters because it prepares them for future job and helps them to have a better life. Now, there is a discussion on whether parents today are more involved with their children's education or not, to compare with the past. In my way of thinking, nowadays parents are more concerned about the education because not only is the education significant today, but also the behaviors have changed over time.

The first reason which should be stated here is that today having an academic degree is crucial. In the past, the life was so simple; there were a few complicated jobs which needed academic literacy; more people were farmers and illiterate, so education was not a superior quality and parents did not care about that. However, today the world is a complex place with high levels of science and technology. Most of the job opportunities need special skills which are provided in the universities. Therefore, parents put more attention to the education of their children due to prepare them for a suitable future job.

The other point which deserves some words here is that passing the time the behavior of people changes. In a particular period, some issues may be important while after a long time those issues may not be a matter for people anymore. Generally, people's behaviors change over time. In the past, parents had less responsibility for their children. As soon as growing up, the children had to work hard, girls in the house and boys in the farmland. The difficult condition of the life did not allow parents to put enough time for the children. conversely, today behaviors are completely are changed. The life is more convenient, and children have fewer duties, also parents have more time to take care of their teenagers. So, it leads to more attention to the education of them.

To summarize, the world has made many changes in the people's life. In one aspect, it made them pay more attention to education in order to find a better job position. Also, it changed parents behaviors in the way that feel more responsible for their children. All of these result in the way that parents today be more involved in their children's education than what they were in the past.