TPO-31- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, it was always important for people to feel satisfied with their lives. While someone believes that living in the past was more enjoyable and people were happier, others think that people aren’t so happy now due to speedy life. Personally, I agree with the first group. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, quick life make more chances for people to know and communicate with each other, so they can widen their minds and feel satisfied. To explain more, the most effective parameter that makes life alter very quickly is the improvement in technology and of course the advent of the internet. Today, everyone in all world has access to the smartphone and as a result has access to the internet, so the distance between people is very short and you can recognize other people from different countries and various cultures. Moreover, this decrease in distances can strengthen friendship among unknown people and this widespread communication can feel people’s hearts with satisfaction and gratefulness. My own experience is a compelling example of this. About ten years ago, when I bought my first smartphone and knew the world of the internet, I started to spend my time in social networks. There were many chat rooms that different people could speak with each other. There I found one of my best friends from Spain, the country I might never travel to, but that application was the reason to find my dear friend and now I feel so happy to spend my time with her.

Secondly, quick changes in life mean that there are many new things waited for people to happen and this can be exciting for any individual who likes to encounter novel things. To clarify my points, these rapid changes in people's lives may help them to improve their skills and deal with various challenges. Consequently, they can define a goal for themselves and make their attempts to achieve the goal and feel prosperous. For instance, one of my friends who was working for a company lost his job due to the problems that one of his colleagues made for him. After that, he was seeking for a new job and he understood it’s better for him to change his field of work. Therefore, he started to improve his other skills and after some months, he found a very well-paid job. If he hadn’t changed his field of working and hadn't improved his skills, he wouldn’t have found that well-paid job.

In conclusion, I believe that rapid changes in people's lives can help them to feel more convinced. This is because not only they can have more communication and friendship, but also define many goals and try to achieve success. (38 min)