tpo 35

The reading and the listening passage have a debate on originality of "voynich manuscript". The writer puts forward 3 main theory which are refuted by following speaker.

First, the writer proposes that the book contain scientific or secret concepts in the form of complicated signs. In addition, similarity between plant pictures on it with Ascham's book declares that author of book is Ascham. The speaker views this issue from opposite angle. According to him, original version of Ascham's book does not have any similarity with manuscript and there is no reason that Ascham puts coded secret documents.

The second point offered by the writer is that it is possible the manuscript evole meaningless signs only because someone like Kelley who had magical power wanted to sell it with high profit. The speaker casts doubt on this claim by saying that there was no need for Kelley to write this manuscript for money because magical power was very easy way to earn money for him. Thus, it seems uncredible reason.

Lastly, the writer suggests that it is possible that Voynich himself has write the manuscript himself to sell it by a consideration price because he was familiar with the characteristic of original documents. As a result, it was easy for him to copy a new one of them with no real meaning! On contrary, the speaker holds an opposite view. He explains that the ink of that book belongs to 400 years before Voynich's time, so, it is impossible that Voynich did that fake even if he knew that technique!