TPO 40 independent writing- Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Children having good grades is always on the top of the list that what parents care about. Many people hold different perspective on how to encourage their children to study. Personally, I believe that offer their school-age children money for high grade is a feasible idea.

First of all, rewards can drive children to become perseverant. Rewards system is a simple concept, it’s a natural way to encourage people on doing certain behavior, and can easily apply on training animals. Through giving money as a rewards when children perform well in school, children can be spontaneous to study in order to get the extra allowance rather than punishing them while they didn’t perform well. When I was in elementary school, my parents also tried this method on me that if I can perform well on a certain math test, I can have NTD$500. I was thinking that if I could get the money, I would buy a new pencil box for myself which I wanted for months. Because I keep thinking about what I can do after getting the rewards, my desire became even stronger. Then, I put lots of time on preparing the test and reached the points my parents and I set.

Furthermore, children can learn the lesson that everything thing we want should gained by hard working. Lesson of don’t take anything for granted is important which related to how we cherish thing we have. As for me, after I got the pencil box I bought with my pocket money due to the math test, I’ve used the pencil box for 5 years because it was not only a product but also a certificate of my diligent. Through getting money rewards to children by setting goals, they will understand that every money or the stuff money can buy is gained by efforts. Besides, they will realize that what we live under and what we eat are coming from other people’s hard work, then cherish the life we live.

Admittedly, some people may concern that it is not appropriate to connect good grades with money because children will not enjoy the knowledge full-heartedly, and which will weaken the desire of learning if parents stop giving money. However, in my opinion, learning for children is mainly boring comparing to playing in a short term. If rewards can be a key of the entrance of knowledge, it will become an opportunity for children to find out their interest on learning.

To sum up, offering children money for each high grade they get in school is helpful to their performance and meaningful to their development.