TPO 41 independent- agree or not? teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Teachers are the most substantial contributors of any society who can train and positively affect future generation of a country. In this context, there are mutually exclusive ideas regarding whether they were respected more in the past in comparison with nowdays or not. From my point of view, I am inclined to this notion that they experienced more respect in the past and are not currently being well-behaved by students, their parents, and even the whole society. My answer to this debating bone of contention is twofold, and in the following, the rationale behind it will be elaborated by the most outstanding, solid proofs.

The first and foremost reason which is worth mentioning is that their incomes were relatively high comparing to both other jobs and their current salaries. This definitely has an indirect impact on their level of respect from others unfortunately. In a society, where earning scores of money is the main goal of every one, people respect your bank account rather than yourself. To put it into a more vivid picture, My brother's father-in-law is a retired math teacher and says that: "in the past, whenever I went to banks, all clerks respected me and the manager always offered me tea (which is considered as a respecting action in my country, Iran) since I had one of the highest incomes of all other workers from diverse industries. However, nowadays, nobody values my former contribution, mainly because they follow other richer people. Providing that educators' incomes increase, the society will appreciate them as much as they did before.

The second and equally far-reaching explanation to bear in mind is that students specifically do not see the necessity of respecting their lecturers insomuch as they do not think education is required for their future lives anymore. Moreover, as I myself recall, parents are always on their offspring's side even though they mostly used to defend teachers when I was a student 20 years ago. This notion has myriad negative consequences one of which is the decrease in teachers' respect. As an illustration, my cousin, Ali, is a highschool student who does feel the urge to study at all. One day, his Arabic teacher asked his parents to have a meeting with him about the future of Ali. Surprisingly, during the meeting, his parents accused the teacher instead of their spoiled child owing to the fact that they did not want to hurt the baby boy's feelings. This phenomenon is happening all over the world unfortunately since everybody is used to thinking less of education. As researchers of RMIT university anticipate, the level of appreciation of teachers' contribution will have decrease for 20 percent by the end of 2050 globally because of this notion.

In conclusion, taking all the aforementioned rationalizations into account, I am prone to the idea that teachers were appreciated more in the past. To recapitulate my beliefs, neither do they earn enough money to be respected, nor do students and their parents value their jobs since they think education is not necessary for their future.