TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task

Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Parents are busier these days than before, both father and mother have a regular nine-to-five job in most of the family. Thus, parents have less time to spend with their children. I believe that if parents have got some time, they should play games and sports with their children. The reasons for holding this position will be further explained in the following paragraph.

First, playing sports and games can create good memories. Often, people will view sports and games be funnier than something they should do, such as their job or their homework. So, spending time playing sports and games with children will make them happier. The happier the memories the positive the bond they will have between them.

Second, play sports and games could create a healthier attitude in terms of what is more important in their life. When parents use their spare time with children on something fun, the children will learn that schoolwork, or academic things, is not the only aspect that parents care about. As a result, the children might hold a better balance between their job and the leisure life in the future.

Third, playing games and sports might be healthier. Students might already spend lots of time sitting in front of the desk doing schoolwork, so it would be healthier if parents take them out and doing something fun. Games and sports potentially offer benefits in both physiological and psychological way. As these kinds of activity are funnier (compare to schoolwork), they might reduce stress in children; in addition, sports, which trains the cardio and muscle, can make children physically fitter and stronger.

To sum up, I advocate that parents should take children out to play instead of staying in the house doing schoolwork. Playing, or doing something fun, offers a huge benefit toward both parent and children, which includes a positive bond between them and a healthier attitude, body, and mind.