TPO-50

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people said that there are so many benefits to earn from learning history, for example, to know what has been done and what should not be done again and to know ourselves better by knowing the culture of our ancestors. However, I hold the position that requiring all university students to learn history courses is not a good idea, the reasons will be further explained in the following paragraphs.

First, it might take some valuable time from student and prevent students from mastering their subject areas. Every field of study would need much time to spend on it in order to truly comprehend the concepts of the study, and so does history courses. So, requiring students to take history courses no matter which field they are in would make the student need to share some of their time to prepare for the history test and might result in not having enough time to prepare for their main subject.

Second, it is likely that students might not actually learn some lesson from history classes if they are being required to take the class rather than taking classes on their own will. From everyday experience, it is highly possible that the expected result is not going to work out if people are doing things by coercion. For example, if a child is required by parents to greet relatives when they meet, although the child would do the "greeting behavior", he/she might not really percepts the meaning of the importance of greeting.

However, despite the reasons mentioned, I do agree with the potential benefit of learning history. To solve this dilemma, it might be better for universities to equip with history classes so that those students who are interested in learning from the past can have some classes to take.

To conclude, I do not think that all university students should take history classes because there might not be enough time for students to study both their subject area and history, and anything happened by force might not work out in an expected way.