TPO 49

With no doubt, friends enrich our lives and make us live a happier life. No one can live without friends, but it is where the agreement stops. When it comes to the controversial question of whether to maintain friendships with few people over a long time or to make as many friends as possible, people hold different opinions. Personally, I think the ability to make many new friends easily is more important for an individual's long term happiness. I feel this way based on my own experience. Friendship and kinship contribute a lot to one’s happiness. Then, the question goes, “does the ability to main long-term friendships with a small number of people matters more than the ability to make many new friends easily?” My answer is “yes”.

First of all, the main reason is that the quality of relationships more important than the quantity of it. The quality of her or his friends will be directly affected their relationship status. If one chooses and collects good friends among verities of friends that person which he or she can choose, consequently this choice makes a staunch relationship among friends in the future. for instance, when I was in university I used to pick naughty friends to make fun in during class time, then I realized in semester late, I completely was in a wrong path, One day I have decided to change my attitude toward friendships relation and how I would be choosing a good person which may help me toward success in the university graduation, then, I choose the most successful person in the university which her name was Mohamad, he inspires me to competition with herself, this competition was an advantageous fear to lose inside me and I always tried to best out of me and I push my limited, in series of competition I could be a top-ranked person in my college. Therefore, the quality of personal characteristics that make better friendships in the future more important than that friendship with a lot of people that ones do not know how the friends in such a friendship have an idiosyncrasy and special habit that does not like it.

In addition, old friends tend to show more understanding of you, being familiar with your hobbies, interests, and some other peculiarities. So, it is usually more comfortable for me to be with my old friends. For instance, I am lactose intolerant and every time when I have dinner with my old friends, they would skip anything that contains milk or cheese, ordering food based on my favor. Contrary to my old friends’ consideration, those newly-acquainted fellows are inclined to show surprise about my intolerance and still pick the food of lactose they prefer. So, to me, old friends are much more considerate and contribute more to my happiness.

Admittedly, the ability to make new friends easily is quite important for a person to get new ideas, broadening their views from different groups of people. However, compared with the ability to maintain long-term friendships, it still plays a less significant role in one’s happiness.

To sum up, one’s happiness is consists of various parts, including self-achievement, security and etc. And I believe long-term friendship is of higher importance than other parts. As a result, the ability to maintain long-term friendships with a small group of people is much more important.