TPO 49. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Finding a friend is one of the most important needs in human. From the very young ages people tend to find friend for themselves. Many people believe that ability to make many new friends easily is more important for happiness. However, I am of the oppinion that it is better to have the ability to maintain your current friendships even you have limited number of friends. In what follows, I will delve into the most crucial reasons to substantiate my view point.

To begin with, there is no doubt that human is in need to find friends, however, the point is that how deepen these fiendships are? In the modern life we have nowadays, it is hard to keep friendships tight. Therefore, the ability to maintain our strings with friends plays an important role. When friendships last for long time they tend to be more deep and harder to seperate. We always need one or two friend to tell them all of our secrets and ask their help when we are in trouble. These kind of friendship are only possible if we have the ability to maintain them and make them stronger.

Moreover, by making each new friend, we should decrease the time we spent with others, in order to dedicate part of our time to that new friend. As a result, quality of friendships will be reduced and we have to devide our time between our huge circle of friends. As a matter of fact, it is easy to make many new friends, while the real challenge is keeping them as a friend over a long period of time. My friend's experiencen demonstrate this concept. My friend, Ali, is very social and he is very skilful in finding new friends. He knows almost every body in the university, however, none of his friendships are deep. He just interact them with simple talks about classes and university, but he doesn't have a single close friend to talk about his feelings and concerns, and he is deppressed most of the time. This is due to the fact that he hasn't tried to improve his ability to maintain the friendships. Had he tried to deepen his friendship, He would have been much happier.

As a conclusion, I firmly believe that having a few number of close friends is more important that making new friends. This is mainly because, we can tell our concerns and secrets only to our close friends and we can improve quality of our friendships when they are limited.