TPO 51 Writing Independent

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern era, movies and television play a pivotal role in broadcasting news, information, and other programs. Many people spend significant time watching their favorite programs on TV, especially young people who may devote several hours watching football games, movies and so on. Therefore, these programs could have noticeable impacts, whether positive or negative, on their lives behavior. The controversial question which arises here is whether movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. From my vantage point, the positive effects of the media outweigh their negative effects. In what follows, the most important reasons will be explained.

The first aspect to point out is that most young people look for ways to spend their free time and watching television is a decent choice. Watching movies and television together with their family members or friends not only could provide a chance to fill their free time and have fun and entertainment, but also enables them to relieve their stress and establish stronger relationships with their parents. For instance, my parents have hectic lives, and they spend a lot of time at work. Even when they are home, they are busy with their own works. But, things are different when we watch TV. Watching a late night show together will gather all of us together and will strengthen our relationship by getting us to laugh together about the jokes and talk about different issues. Afterwards, since all of us are together, I can talk about my problems at school and they can give me some advice which could be very instructive and helpful.

Furthermore, watching television would provide an opportunity for young people to follow the news in a short time without which they have to spend a lot of time reading different newspapers and sources. Moreover, through television, they might see videos from different parts of the world which are related to the news. Therefore, television could offer a better way of attaining worldwide news. Moreover, some instructions about social issues and behaviors could be trained through television. For example, some programs involving some points about sanitation, social behaviors at public places, and so on could teach young people to behave in acceptable ways. This method is even more helpful than the programs held at schools which teach appropriate behaviors to students. Also, there might be some documentaries about different topics including science, technology, social and political issues which could be really fruitful by training young people to become more knowledgeable about various subjects.

To recapitulate, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the fact that movies and television involve more positive impacts on the way young people think and behave. Although there might be some movies or television programs which promote harmful thoughts and behaviors, most of the programs usually serve influential ways to provide fun and entertainment for people. Moreover, some programs broadcast scientific documentaries as well as news or other programs which could be extremely informative for young individuals.