TPO 55: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

It goes without saying that in today's world, one of the primary concern of students is to conduct their projects as better as possible to have a good resume and have a prosperous future. While some people believe that the students' teams should work on their project face to face, the others hold the view that communicating via e-mail is much better and leads in a better result. Personally, I concur with the former group's viewpoint. The reasons substantiating my standpoint are explored in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, in communication by e-mail, there is a chance of misunderstanding, and it may affect the quality of the students' project. To elaborate, it is crystal clear that people in face to face communication can show their emotions and transfer their meaning more clearly and precisely; however, in the written communication such as e-mail, the classmates should send the result of their research via some letters. Besides, when the students or colleagues have face to face communication, they can discuss each other and reach the best results — considering this example for driving this notion home. When I was a bachelor's degree student at the university, I had a cooperative project with one of my friends, and we would inform each other about our tasks during the week and our achievements. In one of our messages just before the project deadline, I misunderstood my responsibility and did another work. Therefore, the day when we presented our project to the professor, the project was incomplete, and we did not get the full score.

In addition, writing is a time-consuming process, which leads to a low-quality result. To elucidate, when teammates are communicating via e-mail, each time they should explain the works which they have done to each other in written form; thus, students should put a lot of time writing the materials which they can explain to each other in a short time. Therefore, they must put less time concentrating on their project, and it is resulted in decreasing the project quality. Needless to say, the more people be in the group, the more time has been squandered in this process.

As shown above, considering all the reasons and the points mentioned, one may conclude that the teammates should be in touch in person. It is because they should misrepresent their work to each other, and the writing process is to waste a colossal amount of time.