TPO 7

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is a topic which always generates controversy. One major discussion is about what type of information students should be taught. I firmly believe that students should learn facts more about general concepts than they should about dates and facts. The ability to think about “the big picture” and understanding how things relate to one another will help students as they enter the workforce.

Many schools focus on the retention of specific facts when instructing and assessing students. This type of rote recall is not a skill that will be of value to students as they move on to college, and is becomes even less important when they begin their careers. The ability to think about concepts and ideas, on the other hand, will be of use. I remember when I began college, I was unprepared for the lectures and exams. I had to learn a new way of thinking because my high school classes had been focused more on dates and formulas.

When I learned how to connect information from the various classes and readings I had done, my comprehension of the material improved dramatically. I began to see how the concepts from my history classes was intimately connected with the books I was analyzing in my literature classes. In physics, the general concepts I had learned in geometry and algebra were put to practical use. My grades steadily improved and in the end, I graduated with honors. However, this ability to connect the conceptual elements of the classes was perhaps the most important lesson I learned during those four years. When I got my first job, my employer was impressed with the way that I was able to grasp the fundamentals of the job without worrying too much about minor details.

To sum up, learning is a complex process. If we want to provide students with the best possible future, I believe that we must teach them to see beyond the facts and recognize the patterns and concepts that lie beneath.