TPO15

In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age.

By and large, it is established beyond any doubt that childhood’s learning plays a prominent role in people's life in adulthood. It comes as no surprise that efforts to finding the necessity of learning some skills like financial skills in the childhood for becoming responsible adults in the future have been always among the top priorities. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether children should learn some skills like managing their money at young ages for becoming successful adult in financial issues or not. I, to a great extent, concur with the idea that children need to learn abilities like financial ones at younger ages. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated by the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point that makes me hold this belief is when children learn how to manage their money from childhood, they get familiar with the value of money and can manage it appropriately in the adulthood as well. It goes without saying that children who are aware of the difficulties behind earning money, can spend money cautiously and do not waste it with excess expenses. Consider a child given small amount of money for every task he do by his parents. He gradually figures out the difficult conditions behind earning money and is inclined to save his money to earn more and more money to buy anything which is worthy, not wasting it by buying unnecessary tools like toys or junk foods. He gradually learn how to manage his money which help him to become a responsible and manageable person in the near future.

Another reason deserving some words here is that many behaviors like financial management form in children's mind from childhood and if parents neglect teaching these abilities to their children, they merely will learn these skills in the future. Statistics show about 85 percent of prosperous people have abilities that rooted in their childhood. This provides further legitimacy and supports for the fact that learning some abilities like financial management in the childhood leads to preparing children for future responsibilities. Children who learn managing their money in the childhood, this behavior imprints in their mind and they never forget it. Moreover, it flourishes with them as they grow elder and becomes more complete. For example, when I was a child, my parents allowed me to manage my small amount of money that I had. Therefore, I learned how to manage my money and this ability nurture with me as I am a financial manager of Amazon Company.

Finally, yet importantly, managing money by children is quiet beneficial for them from a psychological standpoint. If children are asked to manage their money and take the responsibility of it, they feel more independent from their parents; thus, it can boost their self-confidence and self-respect which makes them responsible and successful people in the future. Confidence if a significant factor in people's success in today's world and the more confidence people have, the more successful they are in their social life. Perhaps a more specific experience can shed more light on the matter. My uncle took the responsibility of managing money to my cousins and relied them and never took any advice regarding the money they have. My cousins slowly become self-confidence people and are really successful today. Had my uncle not given them any responsibility in their childhood, they would not have been in a prosperous situation.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned paragraphs, one can soon realize that in order to become financially responsible adults, it is necessary for children to learn how to manage their money in the childhood since not only can they get familiar with the concept of money, but also this ability imprint in their mind and grow with them.