The twentieth century saw great changes. In your opinion, what is one change that should be remembered about the twentieth century? Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice.

There were many important changes, both technological and cultural, during the twentieth century. In my opinion, the most important of these are the advances that were made in medical science. The development of vaccines and antibiotics, increased access to health care, and improvements in surgical techniques are all things that improved, and saved, the lives of people all around the world.

Vaccines and antibiotics have save the lives of many people. Until the middle of twentieth century, many people became crippled or died from polio. Now the polio vaccine is available everywhere. In the past, people could die from even simple infections. Now penicillin and other antibiotics make it east to cure infections.

Increased access to health care has also improved the lives of millions of people. In the past, many people lived far from hospitals and clinics. Now hospitals, clinics, and health centers have been built in many parts of the world. More people have the opportunity to visit a doctor or nurse before they become very sick. They can be treated more easily. They are sick less, and this leads to a better quality of life.

Improved surgical techniques make it easier to treat many medical problems. Microscopic and laser surgery techniques are more efficient than older methods. It is easier for doctor to perform them, and easier for patient to recover. Surgery patients can return to their normal lives more quickly now than they could in the past.

Every body needs good health in oder to have a good quality of life. Advances in medical science have improved the lives of people all around the world. They are improvements that are important to everyone.