What are the characteristics of a good teacher? Use reasons and examples.

Some people claim that behind every successful student there is a good teacher. I wholeheartedly support this statement and I am going to present some characteristics of a good teacher.

First of all, a teacher has to set challenging tasks for his students in order to improve the quality of learning. To be more specific, students can develop their creativity after solving difficult problems rather than common exercises. Also, if a student dedicates some of his time into a difficult task he will remember it for a considerable period of time. For example, I can still remember how to solve a second order differential equation using Frobenious method, because I consumed a lot of my leisure time 3 years ago.

Secondly, it is important for the teacher to create a friendly environment for scholars. He has to encourage them participate in the class in order to increase their self-confident. For this reason he has to make questions towards his students during the class. Moreover, a good teacher should organize discussion classes to help his students overcame their difficulties.

Last but not least, I cannot forget that importance of having a mentor during your childhood. There is no doubt that learning can be both pleasurable and frustrating. Therefore, an unsuccessful task can detract student's psychology and force him to give up. However, a teacher-mentor is able to help scholars in unpleasant circumstances like this. More specifically, he can convince them that failure is an obstacle they have to overcome and motivate them to study even more.

To sum up a good teacher has to set demanding problems, to be friendly and a mentor. In my opinion these are the most precious characteristics of a teacher that can be a beneficial factor for the students.