Which one of the following values is the most important to share with a young child (5-10 years old)?

1. Being helpful 2. Being honest 3. Being well organized

Parents have always been worried about their children's learning. There is an enormous amount of different ethical principle that can be taught to young children and most of the parents are pretty doubtful to select the appropriate ones. In my own perspective, I strongly believe that if we were asked to choose just one value to teach our children, that merit would be being helpful because of two main reasons which are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

First of all, learning to be helpful without any mutual expectation can help a child to grow an independent character. In fact, when a young child at the age of 6 or 7 tries to just help to his classmates at school or kindergarten, he himself learn to do his own duties perfectly and then help others. In this way, he tries to master new skills in order to do the assigned responsibilities. My life is a convincing experience for this idea. My parents were a nurse and they have perfectly done this value throughout their life. Therefore, I became familiar with being helpful from the early ages of my life. As a result, I felt pretty satisfied whenever I helped my friends and also my younger sisters so that the more I helped others, the better feeling I received from them. However, I realized that I must be perfect in a field to be accepted by others. In this regard, I tried hard as a child to do all those little duties perfectly in order to be able to help other. As I got older, I master the huge number of skills and all of the facilitate the development of an independent character.

Secondly, helpful people will receive more than the amount of the help they have done. In fact, if a child can be able to help others, he will get extra help from his peers because children behave exactly in almost the identical way that they have already been treated. To illustrate this point, a pilot investigation has done in my country, China, to examine the successfulness of helpful children. To do this end, around 10 children from the ages between 5 to 7 were selected randomly and were divided into 5 groups. Each group received two similar boxes within which there was a broken gift. Those childer who help their colleagues to repair the broken gift then received more attention from other children. In this regard, children were extremely interested in playing with these helpful children. It shows that helpful people will receive more help from others when they are in a catastrophe, therefore, it is more logical to teach our children to be helpful.

In sum, above from aforementioned explanation, I do believe that being helpful in the most valuable merit that we can teach our children. This is because of being independent and getting more help from others. However, I suggest to carry out extra analytical and experimental investigation in order to explore the sunsequent effect of this value on the character of a child.