Which way do you think is the best for a student to make new friends. a. joining a sports team, b. participate in community activities, c. traveling.

After switching into a new environment, such as new school or new university, students often eager to make friends because they are afraid of loneliness. There are many ways to make new friends, and as far as I am concerned, joining a sports is undoubtedly the best way to befriend with others. The reasons go as follows.

First and foremost, students need common topics to make friends and joining a sport team can give them common topics easily. For example, my brother was afraid of talking to others since he had few topics with others. It was not until his joining to the volleyball team that gave he many topics to talk about. Furthermore, since he had participated in many volleyball competitions, now he have a lots of experiences and stories to share with his friends. Also, he frequently watch a volleyball competition call SBL with his friends and discuss which player performs the best. Just after a semester, the number of his Instagram followers grow from 200 to 400, which makes he busy reply the inbox messages. Evidently, if he had not decided to be a part of volleyball team, he would not have so much topics to make friends. As a result, joining a sports team is indeed the best way to have common topics and make friends.

Besides, students are rather poor, and they can make friend with money in a sports team. For students, since they do not have work, they usually live based on the allowances given by their parents, which means they are often poor. Under such circumstances, joining a sports team is the most economical choice since it is usually sponsored by school. My friend David decided immediately to join the badminton team of his department after entering college. Luckily, the badminton team is sponsored by his department, so he join the team, meet many friends who are also very interested in playing badminton. On the other hand, if David choose to travel, he need to spend a large amount of money, and he had to work day and night to pay back the money he had spent. Consequently, joining a sports team is rather an economical choice than the other two.

Last but not least, students are busy and it is the easiest to spare some time to join a ports team. For instance, to graduate, college students need to take many courses and take enough credits. Suppose someone takes 20 credits in a semester, this means that he or she need to spend 40 hours in a week to studies, including reviewing and doing homework. To make friends on little amount of time, the rest of choices is to join a sports team, which only requires about 3 hours per week for regular practice. My friend David is also a busy student, and based on what he talked to me, he said that playing sports just like taking another 3-credits course; what make it special is you can also make many good friends there! On the other hand, either participating in local communities or traveling requires a lots of time to make friends. Indeed, joining a sports team is the best choice compared to the other two methods.

Based on the above reasons, I believe that the best way to make new friends is to join into a sports team. After all, shy, busy students need common topics to make new friends.