At work or school, you might encounter a problem that requires creativity -for example, you are given a task to complete that is very different from other tasks you do. In work or school situation that requires you to think creatively, would you prefer to

In this competitive world we are currently living, problem-solving is one of the main capabilities that anyone should possess. People whether during their formative years of education or in their job, they encounter with various problems and if they cannot find a creative way to get out of it, it would have numerous detrimental impacts on the lives. This trend prompts a controversial issue, whether people should work as a group to be innovative and propose a solution or they can work alone on it. I adamantly prefer to work alone. I subscribe to this idea because I would more productive in this way and members would interfere with my thoughts.

First and foremost, people are less efficient in the group working. When a group is formed, the responsibility of the group is on the shoulder of all members. Accordingly, they are not enough motivated to reach a proper outcome and easily neglect they responsibility. As a result, they prefer to spend most of their time on by-products. For example, they tend to allocate their time to laughing and storytelling which are completely irrelevant to the ultimate task of the team. This issue has a considerable effect on the efficiency of the group. However, if someone works alone, he would not be faced with these problems because, in case of failing to accomplish the project on time, he would see the consequence of it personally. According to a research done by Yale University, group working declines the productivity. The researchers wanted from ten individuals to peel the potatoes as a group and then they counted total numbers of peeled potatoes. They also repeated this experiment in a way that people should peel the potatoes individually. By making a comparison between averaged peeled potatoes of the group and numbers of them when they did this task solely, they noticed that people working individually peeled more potatoes.

More importantly, a member of the group may try to play a dominant role. As a matter of fact, some of the members of the group would have the leader characteristic meaning that they influence other members and they would attract to them easily. In this circumstance, members prefer to accept all the dominant's behaviors and solutions without thinking for a second. This would lead the group to reach an unacceptable result. But working alone, you would work on the project and problem on your own. Take my personal experience as an example. My thesis in economics master degree was about how inflation rate will affect the tax income of the government. To evaluate the correlation between these two factors, I should define a creative model. I read various latest papers but I was not able to find the model. To tackle this problem, my supervisor formed a group with students who had a similar difficulty. Because of one of the member who tries to impose his idea on others and they accepted it immediately, it took a long time to reach a consensus. It does not need to say that when we designed a model, our supervisor was completely shocked by the result since it was chiefly wrong.

In a nutshell, I prefer to work solely, because group working not only is not productive, but also the likelihood of deviating from the main goal of the group is a lot to a great extent. Furthermore, since people have the various daily task, fixing a time for the meeting is quite difficult.