It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Some people believe that the year off is a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

These days, there is an ongoing debate among people that it is very important to take a break between school and university. It is possible to claim that having a one year break can be beneficial for some, in my view it is more important for the students to continue their academic studies. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument.

There are several reasons why the students must avoid taking a one year break right after finishing school. One of them could be that the students can lack behind from their peers. It can also be argued that students can find themselves in a situation where their fellow class mates are ahead of them not only in terms of academic studies but also in their professional career. It should also be taken into account that peer pressure can be lead to depression as well in some cases.

Those who argue for having a one year break have a different view and sat that it can actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that an individual can start the university with fresh mind which can help them stay more energized at the start of the university. Secondly, students can also complete any of their unfinished work which they were not able to fulfil in the past. For example, spending quality time with friends and family can also be added advantage.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that individuals can benefit more if they continue their studies without a one year off. I would strongly recommend taking short breaks rather than long breaks especially right after finishing school.