According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

The argument about recent report that all colleges and university should adopt honor code like Groveton’s in order to decrease cheating among students. According to reports, cheating among college and university students is on rise. However, Argument fails to prove some points which is necessary to prove whether Groveton’s should be adopted or not.

As per recent report, Groveton College has successfully reduced cheating by adopting honor code. But who took the report and how many colleges and universities are in this report. What are the criteria of report? If report taken by one of the influencer of Groveton College then may be report are biased. And There honor code which calls students to agree not to cheat I their academic endeavours and notify a faculty member if they suspect other student who cheated. But even if they agree not to cheat in their academic endeavour but most of the time student does not follow rules and sometimes they cheat. And if they notify teachers about how other who cheated then how many cases is there. What steps are taken by faculty so students will not cheat?

Groveton’s honor code replaced a system in which teacher’s closely monitored students under system. There are thirty cases of students who cheated and which reduced to twenty one. What are the other college or university’s reports which follow same honor code? Is there a reduction in cheating cases there also? Report says later in five years, cases of cheating reduced to fourteen. If Groveton’s honor code is effective then why there is only seven cases less than cases five years ago.

Moreover, recent survey also says that students of Groveton’s college would be less likely to cheat with an honor code than without. But there are cases which say that number of students who cheated is not reduced.

In conclusion, cheating rises among college and university students but Groveton’s college has successfully reduced cheating cases by adopting an honor code may be required more details about report. If any college other than Groveton adopted honor code then what is the result of that college if they successfully reduced cheating cases or not. Author also fails to provide accurate details about what are the steps taken to reduced cases as there are not significant reduction in cases.