According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt suggests that - all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes; just like Groveton's one to decrease among students. The seemingly correct tone of this prompt are underlied by logical flaws in assumptions, implicited in the passage stated below only followed by clarification of the same.

1. The moral of the students of Groveton College has become much higher than before in recent times for avoiding cheating in the exams as they are following the honor codes in their exams.

2. No optional punishments or successive penalties are not in application by the Groveton College authority.

3. The reprots provided by the students are actually free of manipulation.

To begin with - the very first point we can take - if the students are actually following the honor code or their pride actually hurts them from commiting cheating in the exams then their moral must be high enough not to do any immoral activity as we all know that cheating is a immoral activity. Now the question rises - if their moral is so high and their pride haults them from commiting cheating in the exms because of honor code then why did they earlier; that mean why did they cheat before the introduction of honor code. The author assumption that - the honor code has ceased the students from commiting cheating - might not hold firmness and it could be explained in two ways. Firstly, if the reduced result in cheating is only because of the honor code then they it can easily be remarked that they might not do act earlier too as it will hurt pride that time too. But if the had committed the immoral act previously then what will prevent them from cheating later now? Only some honor codes? Not convincing enough.

Secondly - which might make sense, is that - the authority might have provided penalties or severe punishments which actually prevents the students from cheating. It might include public shaming or rustrication from colleges or many kindred ones. If that is the case then it withstand the reasoning that honor code has ultimately been successful to help the students from cheating. But no evidences of supplimentary punishments or penalties are not being mentioned in the prompt by the author. So, it might be poor idea to remain firm in prioritizing honor codes.

Apart from that - most importantly, it is said in the passage that the statistics of cheating post the implication of honor codes are reported by the students and the author is taking that report authentic for granted. What if the results are manipulated by the students themselves in order to take advantages of the honor codes? What if the students are actually pretty much comfortable in cheating even after introducing the honor codes? It might be the case that the reports made by the teachers earlier were true but otherwise for the cases of the students. The author had not provided any certain evidences that might be sufficient enough to firm the believes upon the students' reported cheating statustics post honor code inoculations.

Another point which is kind of supplimentary to the previous one is that - from the very beginning we found out that the students were cheating in the exams which is a immoral act. Now because of the previous records of the students, cheating in the exams, it might not be disbelieved that - they might manipulate the result of their reports. May be the true reports provided the students show increase in cheating whereas they might flaw it in other way.

So, looking at all the factors and the points aforementioned it would not be a better idea to come to any conclusion, specially when the prompt is devoid of many evidences and speculations.