An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

In this arguement, the author has drawn an optimistic conclusion that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time. To support this conclusion the author experimented with the 30 volunteers having chronic insomnia and asseerted that they slept of three weeks. However, the arguement fails to account for several other possible explanations. So this arguement is unconvincing for several reasons.

First of all, the arguement is considering only 30 volunteers for their experiment. If this study works for these 30 volunteers, does that mean it will work for all the people residing in all other region? No. The author also does not have provided the details of these 30 volunteers, wheather this volunteer is male or female, it depends on their sleeping process and daily routine. Moreover it also does not provide the data taht what was the backgroung of the volunteer. Maybe these volunteers were bribed for success of the study. In addition, these volunteer were made to sleep on lavender scented pillow, it does not take into account that if this worked for 30 volunteers it will work for all other people and what about those who are allergic to lavenderic scent?

Secondly, it does not provide data of work load of the volunteers. Maybe they are too busy in their hectic schedule and due to work load and pressure from their bosses and tension they were not able to sleep in previous few weeks. So by volunteering in this study, they get rest and were free from all the tension so they could sleep peacefully during these weeks. In first week they woke up feeling tired because they are not used to it. Also the atmosphere matters in soporific nature of human. Maybe they could not sleep due to nosiy environment outside, honks to vehicles and all other disturbing noises, but he location where this study is carried out is isolated for the city where there is no noise and disturbance and because of this thay could sleep for more time than at home.

Thirdly, it is said that they could sleep less soundly during last weeks due to this pillow, but their maybe some other reasons. If they are isolated, they have nothing to do so person becomes lazy and automatically sleep induces without andy medications.

Thus, considering all above points the arguement is unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen this arguement the author needs to provide more data on volunteers and other statistical data considering all the above points. Due to limitness of volunteers this arguement is not justified.