On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals

In the above argument the writer wants to convey the message to the editor that by decreasing the number of mopeds on the Balmar’s island will decrease the number of accidents between the pedestrians and the vehicles. Also it claims that this process was carried out in different city and results were seen. But, without the total number of accidents and relation between both the cities are not given.

Firstly, the main point is given that there is increase in number of population in summer is increased. Does that mean that accidents will increase? Suppose if accidents increases that does not mean that there is only accident between moped and pedestrian, there could be any other accident also.

Secondly, it also claims that by reducing the number of vehicles from 50 per day to 25 per day will decrease the accidents between mopeds and pedestrian, but there is no proof that number of accidents will surely decrease. Maybe only one bad driver can cause number of accidents and the daily percentage will increase. Until and unless number of accidents happening per day is not stated this could not be claim.

Finally, there is wrong comparison between the two cities. The same process of decreasing the number of mopeds by half in the neighboring island seaville has decrease the number of accidents by 50%. But, does that goes with the other city as well? Maybe the tourist visiting that city was less and so many accidents do not occur. Also depending on how the streets are wide there is place for driving. Moreover travelling distance is not stated too so maybe in the seaville island people prefer walking more than driving and due to this the number of accidents are less.

Thus, by above points stated it cannot be claimed that by decreasing the number of mopeds from 50 per day to 25 per day will result in decrease the number of accidents. There should be more information provided on the number of accidents happening in time in summer.