Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well

The manager of the happy pancake house restaurant has drawn an optimistic conclusion that by using the margarine instead of butter, the people do not have objection, also their profit will increase. To support this conclusion the manager has derived many points but fails to consider some points which might affect the conclusion. So on this basis the argument do not stand.

Firstly, the manager states that only 2 percent people have complained about this. This cannot be considered because the number of people dining their is not giver. So If there are only few people coming to that restaurant then this 2 percent becomes very big. Also the it states that 98 percent people do not complain if they are served margarine, the author has made wrong comparison, what if they people did not know the difference between margarine and butter? What if they don't care about what they are served? Does that mean that all the people around that cities will don't care.

Secondly, the statement concluded by the servers in restaurant that many people do not object that they are served margarine instead of butter. This is because there is same color and minute difference in taste between them. Maybe they did not object right now but they can be show their objection by not coming in that restaurant again. Then will it be profitable? They will share this things to other people and they too will not prefer this restaurant and go elsewhere instead.

Thirdly, If the customers could tell the difference between butter and margarine then also they don't want to tell them because they don't want to be in dispute with managers.

Fourthly, the manager claims that by using totally margarine instead of butter can reduce their expences, also by applying it in southeast branch and northeast branch and it would be profitable. Here the manager has made wrong comparison. If something occurs in one city that does not mean it will be same impact on other city as well. The people in other city might be smart and can identify the difference between them and so it would be not profitable anymore.

Thus by above reasons, this argument undermines and do not stand. To strengthen this argument the manager needs to provide the statistical data to the people that they are satisfied. Also, manager should take feedback from the people so that they can estimate rightly.