"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the Balmer Island Gazette it is recommended that the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians will be reduced if the town council of Balmer Island limit the number of mopeds rented by the island’s rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day. The recommendation is based on the reduction in moped accidents noted in the neighboring island of Seaville last year. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated three questions must be answered.

First of all, will the annual number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians will be reduced by only limiting moped rental during summer months? In other words, are most accidents occur only during summer months and that negligible number of accidents occur during other months? It is possible that there are accidents that happen during rainy season due to water on the road or during winters with snow or black ice on the road. Further, there is a possibility that most of the accidents occur in season other than summer. If either of these scenarios has merits, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is number of mopeds on the road the only reason for accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians? Perhaps, there are no footpaths constructed in Balmer Island and because of which pedestrians are walking on the road and leading to the increase in accidents. It may well be possible that there are no crosswalk signals on the island for pedestrians to cross the streets and pedestrians are forced to cross the streets with the flowing traffic and due which the number of accidents are more. If above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, are Balmer Island and Seaville island the same? i.e. what worked for Seaville same would work exactly for Balmer Island? It may be possible that the population of Seaville Island is way less compared to population of Balmer Island as a result even by reducing the number of moped rented per day may also not fetch similar result as achieved in Seaville. Also, it could be possible that Seaville has better roads for mopeds and better walkways for pedestrians and Balmer Island lack on these infrastructures. If any of the scenario holds true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument will not hold good.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If author is able to answer the questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.