The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Argument claims that Dr. Field's observation that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents is invalid. At first Dr. Karp’s point seems to be valid but it is not bolstered with any strong evidences to prove the argument.

Firstly, Dr. Karp assumes the social culture and situations in Tertia are similar as of twenty years ago. If so, it should have been supported with valid evidences by which we can conclude that mindset and culture of people did not change over the time span of twenty years. As everything changes over course of time, it is evident that people now living in Tertia would not prefer their children being reared by other villagers. If this is proved to be true, will surely undermine Dr. Karp's argument.

Second, Dr. Karp's recent interview over group of islands which include Tertia is considered same as Dr. Field's observation on Tertia. In Dr. Karp's conclusion there is a chance that children in other islands apart from Tertia are reared by biological parents and this ratio is significantly high when compared to children reared by whole village in Tertia. Therefore, if this statement is true will be contradicting Dr. Karp's argument.

Third, Dr. Karp's interview-centered method is considered similar to that of Dr. Field's observations. In interview-centered method children would have answered only to those questions which were imposed on them. We do have a chance where all questions are related to their biological parents, hence children spend much more time talking about their parents rather than other adults in village. Even this would weaken the argument, if proved to be correct.

Therefore, Dr. Karp provided many claims without any standard evidence to prove them. To state the argument true he need to provide solid evidences for all the questions raised in above paragraphs. Or else Dr. Karp's argument cannot be convincing to anyone.