The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given argument, author Dr. Karp, an anthropologist states about observations of Dr. Field are not correct on the basis of author’s recent interviews with children living in Islands of Tertisa. This argument contains many flaws which are not addressed by author properly. There are many holes and bullets present in the argument made by author. In the conclusion the author’s graduate team will establish more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions. Valid suggestions will be provided to improve this flaws.

At first, the main flaw in the assumption made by author is that he did not mentioned about the details of island visited by him and graduate students and information about island visited by Dr. Field. It may be possible that this islands visited by both anthropologists were different. For example, Dr. Field carried out his observations with the different culture which has different rituals for child-rearing traditions and Dr. Karp’s observations are from different groups. To improve this flaw, proper location of islands should be mentioned by author for further comparison of both observations on child-rearing traditions of islands of Tertia.

Secondly, the other assumption in the author’s assumption is related to time gap between both the observations. Dr. Field has carried this observation around twenty years ago in which it may be possible that this his observations are valid at that period of time. But after twenty years when Dr. Karp recent interviews with children of Tertia island carried out, there may be chances of change in the beliefs of people of Tertia regarding child-rearing traditions. This is one of the major aspects of observation between this two anthropologist. This flaw can be improved by doing more research on the cultures of child-rearing traditions in islands of Tersia.

In converse, it may be possible that recent methods developed by Dr. Karp and graduate students to know the traditions of child-rearing is more accurate. But for that proper analysis of all facts and information should be done. The more information of methods of Dr. Karp should be provided for further analysis.

In sum of all, the author has many flaws in his assumptions which also contains lack of information and others. Proper examples were provided to improve this flaws. Proper research should be done.