Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

The given prompt states about two types of thinking of different people regarding responsibilities of corporations. First type of responsibility is about responsibility to promote the development of societies and environments in which it operates. Second type of responsibilities states that corporations operate within law and focus is to make money as much as possible. Thus given prompt describe 2 ways of responsibilities for working of corporations. From my point of view, I am completely agreed with the first point of view that is to promote the well-being of societies and environments in which they operate. Many valid examples will be provided to support the point of view.

First of all, let’s take the example of famous Indian telecom company Reliance Jio whose CEO is famous business tycoon Anil Ambani has provided free 4G-Internet and unlimited calls for the people for around 11 months who bought SIM card of the jio company. The main agenda behind this scheme and plan is to increase the use of high-speed internet in developing country like India where the internet speed is very less. The Reliance Corporation have a responsibility to support and promote the all-round development of societies and environment which also increases the business of company and make it is India largest telecom partner in 2018. It possesses benefits for both, the society and the company. This type of business policy is boon for both company and the society which is related to company.

Additionally, let’s take another example of another business tycoon, Jameshji Tata who started many institutes as Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) and Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai which provide best research facilities to the citizens of India and this research institutes were funded by Tata Company itself. This approach helps the youth of India by doing research in many fields irrespective of cast, creed and language barrier. For the Tata company, it is source of advertisement for Tata brand. The type of responsibility assured continuous progress of both company and societies which plays a major role in development of this.

On the other hand, second type of responsibility of corporation depicts mentality about the reserved type of people. This organization make progress steadily but this type of organization are not best in the field as there business policy is not properly suited. There may be chances that this companies are famous for their work and progress. But it is not liked by the investors as their business policy is mainly in not highly profitable.

In conclusion, the business people’s believe plays an important role in development of organization. If it is beneficial to the societies and environment around the company it will be definitely beneficial for both people and organization.