The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

it seems undeniable that adopting honor codes similar to groveton's one can make declination of cheating among the students in colleges and universities. To justify this argument, the editor of student newspaper cites that groveton college made a success by adopting honor codes which teachers are receiving reports about cheating rather than monitering cheating. While supporting the argument, however, the editor makes several assumptions that cannot be taken for granted. thus, questions regarding these assumptions should be answered in order to assess the argument.

As a threshold matter, this argument hastily assumes that the survey is totally reliable. Although this might be the case, the survey was held by honor council, not in any corporation which have surest method or financial support. if the survey is unreliable and that the reality is different from the result of the survey, then the editor cannot conclude that rest of colleges and universities should adopt the honor codes, since one cannot know whether the students of groveton college actually feels that it become harder to cheat than before. thus, the question regarding the reliability of the survey should be answered.

Even conceding that the survey held by honor council is totally reliable, the argument is still dubious in that it lies on unfair assumption: all students are full of integrity. since the honor codes policy is totally attributing the responsibility of not cheating to the students who are actually taking the test, it is possible that students who are taking the test can communicate themselves that they can cheat each other, and not to report to their teacher. By cheating as whole, the cheating deed cannot be reported to their teacher since all the students have comprised themselves. The circumstances would not be happened when the policy remain to the old-fashioned system. thus, the case should not be occurred, and since the probability still remains, the policy should not be spreaded to all colleges and universities.

Aside from the issues of the reliability and whole-cheating case, the argument is still vulnerable in that it hastily assumes that the atmosphere among students will not be changed. however, after the honor codes have been adopted, the atmosphere among students will significantly change. since the policy totally lies on the report of the individuals, the students' attitude will be more harsh toward other students if the recommendation have been accepted. More vigilant atmosphere might be incarnated. So that the honor codes might have reduce the cheating happening, the circumstance cannot be regarded as 'successful' since only vigilant mood is present among the student society. thus, the recommendation should not be accepted. therefore, questions about this should be answered.

In sum, since numerous assumptions that are unwarranted are applied to this argument, it remains fragile in its form. therefore, questions mentioned above should be answered in order to evaluate the argument more precisely.