The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of

Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken

when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline

in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of

computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made

citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on

fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely

the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The magazine publishes that only one-fourth population lower fraction than in past have fitness this is mainly due to economic decline which limited use of fitness-related goods and has no thing to do with computer use. The argument gives is spurious on its claim as the data defined have no reliable source, population number is not given rather fraction calculation is not clear, computer is source which make people go out unfit, and no guarantee that economy increase will bring back fitness.

The data present in the prompt that one half of past and one-fourth of present, this might be in a situation that 1000 fit of 2000 in past and 2500 fit of 10000 in present, which makes clear that people have increased who are fit. The other important detail in the presentation to see is the source of data may be treacherous which lead to misjudge the fact, say, three-fourth population at present. Giving the vague source and calculation error cannot be sufficed to claim the conclusion such easily.

They find no reason computer making unfit but many people sitting in computer for hours make them feel lazy and tired which will gradually make them not fit if their laziness increased and hampered their daily activities. It is just not just to see the vague term overall fitness level might only ensure the body mass index but exclude eye strains and mental anxiety. This should be considers in the assumption and disregard in this part makes the conclusion fallacious.

Economy might rise and citizen have the purchasing power to fitness power so nobody is fit again. There should be research that with purchasing power people will definitely go to buy fitness products and now spend time on this item to make them healthy. Provided this fact only the conclusion can be claimed.

The published article in the Corpora should focus on the specific facts rather than vague data, ensure fitness of the computer user in all aspect and research on willingness to purchase to validly drawing the given conclusion.