The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that in order to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies. This argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating the facts and by providing weak evidences. However, careful scrutiny of the evidences in the letter reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered unsubstantiable or incomplete.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that, by reducing the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season limits the number of accidents. This is merely an assumption without a solid ground. If the letter has provided answers to the questions like, what is the guarentee that even after reducing the number of mopeds rented in the island there is going to be a probability that the number of accidents taking place will reduce? The next hallowness of the letter is that, the writer is not sure that the accidents are happening by the moped driver's fault. The pedestrian might actually lack discipline and break the law by not walking on the footpaths which might be the sole reason for the accident happening in the first place. Is the writer sure that by reducing the mopeds renting in the summer alone will reduce the accidents taking place annually? Hence, the argument would have been more convincing if there are answers provided in the letter for these questions.

Second, the writer of the letter noted that when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals there was a 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents. This again a weak and unsupported argument. If the letter has provided evidences such as the actual number of mopeds being used in Seaville town, the total population of the town and importantly, is the restriction implemented in the summer season in the Seaville town? Consider a scenario that in the previous year there were 2 accidents involving moped and a pedestrian and this year there is just one accident. This is a 50 percent reduction in the number of accidents but this might happen even after reducing the mopeds by half as the number of accidents are significantly low.

Finally, the letter points out that the population is increased to 100,000 during the summer season. This actually can raise a skeptical question such as, what is the population of the country in no summer seasons? If the author has provided answers to this question the reader might find the lettr more convincing.

In conclusion, the letter is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the letter must have provided more concrete evidences and a detailed analysis. So, to better evaluate the letter more information about the actual population of the town and the population and number of accidents reduced in the neighbouring town should have been mentioned.