The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter concludes by predicting an increase in number of shoppers in Central Plaza by restricting skateboarding. The author comes to conclusion based on opinion of store owners in Central Plaza. Even though, the assertion made by the author might be true, these three questions must be answered before accessing the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, is the decrease in the number of people visiting the Plaza influenced by increase in popularity of skateboarding? It might be possible that the decrease in shopper be due to poor quality of products available in Central Plaza. Perhaps another complex has been built nearby the Plaza that decreased the quantity of people visiting there. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion of the argument is weakened.

Moreover, are the owners who provide the opinion of this relation between people vising the plaza and using skateboard logical? They might have said that these number of shoppers in Plaza and the skateboarders are inversely proportional by just surficial analysis. These owners who tend to band skateboarding may be under the influence of people like cycle store owner for whom skateboarding is a tough competitor. If any of these cases is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, is the increase in litter in the Plaza due to increase in skateboarders? These wastes might be due to lack of in-depth cleaning by the cleaner who were previously hardworking. Also, the degree of punishment of throwing wastes in the Plaza might have been reduced that increased people negligence in the wrappers of chocolates and junk foods. These situations might decrease the credibility of the argument.

Thus, in conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions that decreases its validity. It the author is able to provide the answer to these three questions above, perhaps by a systematic study approach then the recommendation can be properly evaluated.