The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The popularity of skateboarding cannot be the only reason of decrease sales. What if the quality and variety of the products in central plaza is decreased? Because decreased quality and variety will obviously decrease the number of shoppers. What if the online shopping trend had decreased the shoppers? Recently, there is a trend of online shopping, shoppers avoid going to stores for shopping this saves their time as well as money, as there are many offers and discounts online from various sellers. Skateboarders cannot be blamed solely for decreased sales as there are various other factors.

What if there is an economic slowdown in the country? Economic slowdown of a country reduces the purchasing power of people which in turn results in the decreased sales of goods and services. What if that area was stuck with some natural calamity? Natural calamity deteriorates the economic condition of people in that area by destroying their houses, and other valuable items which in turn reduces their purchasing power. What if the population of that area is decreased? Population of that area may have decreased due to reduced job opportunities or lack of facilities. People tend to migrate to other areas with good opportunities and facilities.