The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that the number of shoppers in central plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. This argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and by providing weak evidences. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the authors conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author notes that many central plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. This is merely an assumption made without a solid ground. How can it be concluded that the skateboarders make no purchase of products in the central plaza? The skateboarders might actually buy something and a non skateboarder might go home empty handed just by doing any window shopping. The argument would have been more convincing if there is an evidence presented regarding information about the purchases of all the customers.

Second, the owners also pointed out that, there has been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any correlation between increase in the skateboarders and littering in the central plaza. Any person who lacks discipline might enter into the plaza and that person need not be a skateboarder. The one who is actually littering might have been a non skateboarder. If the argument had provided evidence that skateboarders are causing all the trouble in the plaza then it would have been lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, there is no guarantee that even after the skateboarders are prohibited from the central plaza there will be an increase in the business. However, there can be an rise in the sales by proper marketing, selling quality based products and also by attracting crowd by alluring offers and deals. Doing these things, might increase the business despite the number of the skateboarders in the plaza.

In conclusion, the authors argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further the author should have provided more concrete evidences by giving evidences related to the littering and the link between the decrease in sales and number of skateboarders in the plaza.