The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Maasontown, it is stated that residents should be encouraged to recycle more in order to save money on municipal garbae disposal fees. The author came to this conclusion based on the law passed by Hayesworth late last year which saw a decrese in its garbage disposal cost. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questins must be answered.

First of all, are Hayesworth town and Masontown roughly comparable? what if Hayesworth town residents are law abiding and hence the law produced desired results? It is possible that the people of Haysworth are law abiding people and Mason town people are not and so passing the same law in Mason town may not decrease garbage disposal cost. Also, the law enforcers at Masontown may be easy to bribe and so even when the law is broken by a resident, the resident may bribe the law enforecer and get away with the crime. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclsuion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, will an advertising campaign encourage residents to recycle? The author assumes that implementation of an advertising campaign will encourage residents to recycle. It is possibe that residents do not pay attention to the campaigns and hence the campaign may not produce the desired results. It is also possible that the advertising campaign does not get to all residents. If these scenarios prove to be true, then the conclusion drawn from the original argument is significantly weakened.

Further, do all residents know how to recycle? The author assumes that all residents know how to recycle and implementing a law to recycle will be effective. It is possible that not all residents know how to recycle and may need to attend trainings on how to recycle to be good at it. If this proves to be true, the conclusion drawn from the original argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide more evidence and answer the questions above, then it may be possible to properly evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to encourage residents to recycle more.