The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt represents a letter from a faculty member of Seatown University to the president of the university demanding that a free-tuition policy should be introduced to keep the professors in the varsity. The author has reached the conclusion based on evidence from a nearby university. However, the following assumptions need to be checked for this to be a valid demand.

First of all, the author is presuming that the Seatown University and the Ocenia Varsity is roughly comparable. The author did not provide any information on this matter. What if Ocenia University is a big university and has the funding to take such a measure and Seatown University is not? So, if this is true, then the Seatown University fails at the beginning to implement this policy.

Secondly, The author presumes that all professors will be likely to stay if their students are offered free tuition here. How do we know that all the professors have college-going children? For instance, if there is a professor who do not have a child that goes into the college, then this method will simply bear no fruit for him. And if there is a majority of such professors, then this policy wears thin. Because, it will keep paying some of the teachers but the majority will see no benefit in it for them.

Again, for argument's sake, let's say all the professors do have college-going children. The author is very ready to assume that they would want to study here. What are the odds? Maybe many of them do not want to study in this particular university, or maybe the university do not offer the subjects that they would like to get into. So, in this case, despite having college-going children, the professors can not rip-off any advantages from this policy.

Then, the author is assuming that if this policy is introduced, it will increase the morale among the faculty. Well, how? There are cases like suitability and eagerness, First, the professor has to fit the appropriateness of this policy (should have a child who want to go to this college) and then personal opinion of the professor. What if some of them are not interested in the policy? What if, despite giving this benefit, they want to leave? So if this were true, it certainly did not increase morale and the argument could not hold water.

Lastly, the author argues that if this policy is implemented, it would lure new professors. Well, this policy could be appealing to some extent, but a not-quite-significant policy like this will hardly effect anyone's choice for choosing this varsity over other ones. The questions from paragraph two and three are also applicable here.

In conclusion, The author's reasoning stands, at this point, inherently flawed. There were lot of unwarranted assumptions. So, if the author can clarify these doubts or questions and present a logically coherent argument with relevant merits and demerits of this plan, that might be a valid judgement.