The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately 1/3 of its original force. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the 20 floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment predicted in the letter that profits of his complex will increase by restricting water flow throughout all twelve buildings in his complex. His assumption is based on a trial operated on the first 3 buildings among these twelves, that the showerheads of the three were adjusted to maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. The owner deems that residents will not complaint if the plan implemented since he only received a few concerns about low water pressure in the first three complexes. At the first glance, the letter seems plausible, however, with a thorough scrutinize, it fraught with flaws and holes.

First of all, Just by stating that there is only a few complaints about low water pressure, the author can not conclude that their residents are not bothering by the water adjustment. It is very likely that the majority of the residents in the first three buildings already felt the problems brought by low water pressure to their life, for example, it would take them longer time to wash their dishes and taking showers, and they are considering moving to other places. In this case, the company needs to recover the water supplement as it used to be to stop further profit lose, and it would be a disaster if the manager followed the owner’s recommendation.

Secondly, it would be too bold to make the prediction before the actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment released. From the small cases of complains, it is obvious that water pressure has significantly reduced after the modulation. As the water pressure drop, the total water usage is likely to increase due to longer time of use per time. Wash dishes, for example, to remove the grease, it would take longer time if the water stream is small, then the 5 minute dish wash time might prolong to 15 minutes, and people would be so frastrited. By considering the risk of increasing water usage, it would be to soon to say that the Corporation would benefited from the water adjustment.

Thirdly, even if the water usage dropped in the first three complex and residents are taking it, it does not mean the rest of eight complex will show the same result to water adjustment. It might be the case that the water pressure is already low in the rest of 8 buildings due to the higher floors, then further reducing might lead to no water supply in the top floor of the buildings, lack of water supply will be vitiate the status of other facilities of the building, and it will be a lot more cost to fix it compare the money they save from water bill. Without exclude the situations like I mentioned above, it would not be wise to started adjustment to the rest of eight buildings.

To sum up, the owner failed to provide strong evidence to support his assumptions. Imprudent strategy may cause severe problems in a long run, the manager need a lot more information to validate the owner’s predication before taking actions.