The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo asserts that the company should discontinue the stocking their varieties of imported cheeses and focus primarily on domestic cheeses in order to achieve greater profit. To make this argument, the memo assumes that the main causes of being famous on the Wisconsin area for the cheese is being domestic and world magazine report result. I found this argument irrational since it rests on faulty assumptions.

Firstly, the memo gives emphashis on domesrtic cheese over other varietis on the basis of fact that all the best five cheese seller sells domestic cheese from Wisconsin. The autor fails to assumes that they might be sucessful more becauses they sells qaulity cheeses rather than domestic ones, because consummer doesnot cares whether it is domestic or not. The thing they only care about is quality. So, memo would have suggest to improve in quality rather than changing the origin of cheese.

Secondly, the memo considers the world magazine report to give suggestaion. The world might have difefrent psycological consequences than the area company is focusing. Maybe people of that region may have interest on other veriestis of cheeses. It might be also possible that resident of the city are more likely to test the other foreign tastes. So, before making recommendation the memo, the writer should have think from the point of view of the residents.

Thirdly, the memo suggest to reduce the varieties of cheese and focus on domestic one only to make profit by reducing inventory. But the memo fails to address the consequence of surging of domestic cheeses on the cities. If all the stores start to sell domestic ones, the market will be monotonous that also could be harmful to the all of the store including this one. Thus, the ,memo should have consider the consequence of monotonous market.

In conclusion, the argument is based on the faulty assumption that decreasing inventories and increasing domestic cheeses can increase profit. Thus, to strengthen the argument, the writer would have consider the interest of local people, the possible abberation on psycology from the world point of view and thge consequences of monotonous market.