The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The vice-president of a food distribution company argues that a pest company should be replaced because the warehouse it worked on incurred more loss than the other one managed by different pest company. Although, the point made sounds plausible but they need to be further analysed before any action taken.

According to data provided, warehouse in Palm city suffered the loss of $20,000, while that in Wintervale lost $10,000 worth of food, in both cases, because of pest. Before reaching any conclusion based o figures, we need to what was the ratio of loss to total worth of food present in the warehouse. It could be possible that in Palm city, there was $100,000 worth of food and Wintervale there was $30,000 worth of food. Clearly, Wintervale suffered more loss here than Palm city. The total worth of food present must be computed before comparing the losses in each warehouse.

Secondly, it is not clear how was the damage quantified in each of the warrehouse. It is easy to calculate the loss if the food was package, since one can just read the price printed on the food to gauge the loss. However, if the warehouses contains items like vegetables and fruits, whose price fluctuate with time, it becomes tedious to determine the loss. The Vice president should elaborate how was the loss calculated to support his decision.

Thirdly, it could be possible that food item that were affected by pest in Palm city were more costly, so little damage has significant cost than in Wintervale. As a result, Wintervale had more damage but since we are only considering value, not the quantity of food affected, Palm city warehouse would suffer more loss, just because the food affected in Palm city were more expensive. Hence, amount of food affected by pest should be considered while making the decision to give contract to another company.

Fourth, Palm City might be suffering from acute pest problem presently and Fly-way pest control might have under-estimated the problem. In such case, had the Buzzoff company was responsible for Palm city, one could expect similar result. As a result, it would be prudent to give Fly-way one more chance and see if they could improve next time.

The argument made by Vice President is not complete and convincing. It leaves several questions unanswered and should not be used to make any decision.