The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

According to the passage, the author asserts that reducing an hour in working process will lead to higher productivity since the workers may get adequate amounts of sleep. However, this passage calls for further evidence and adequate inferences on its diagnosis and suggestion.

First, the author assumes that Quiot is more vulnerable to on-the-job accidents compared to Panoply Industries and Panoply’s less accidents result from the work shifts which are an hour shorter than Quiot. However, this mere fact seems to be overestimated in some sense. The author maintains his/her argument by providing the statistics from last year, however, some may doubt the fact that the relatively higher accidents compared to that of Panoply was an exception. That is, it is possible that Quiot used to have less accidents than Panoply in the past. Moreover, if two companies differ in the type of production, this difference might not be sufficient to explain the working conditions of both companies. What if the Quiot is based on manufacturing and most of Panoply’s tasks are done by computers? This may nullify most of the assumptions made in the passage. In addition, merely the fact that 30 percent more accidents happened in Quiot does not necessarily mean that Quiot is significantly vulnerable to accidents. If the actual number of the accidents were significantly low, the 30 percentage increase might not be that serious. Not only that, some may question that an hour reduction in work shift always guarantees the better productivity. There can be other factors that might have affected the occurrence of accidents. For example, Panoply may have safer environment. Therefore, the author’s assumption that Panoply’s shortened work hour caused less accidents should be reassessed.

Second, the author presumes that, by borrowing from experts claim, the fatigue and sleep deprivation caused more accidents at Quiot. However, this claim needs more accurate evidence. It may be true that fatigue and sleep deprivation cause more accidents in general. Notwithstanding, this does not necessarily explain the main cause of accidents at each company. That is, the author is making too much generalization on the factors which triggered accidents.

Last, the author believes that employees may get adequate amounts of sleep from an extra hour given from shortened work shifts. However, unless employees spend their extra hour only for sleep, this does not necessarily guarantee the longer sleeping hour. When employees spend their time for other activities, they might sleep as usual or even less. Furthermore, the author mentioned that this extra hour is given by shortening work shift. But this shortened procedures in production may cause accidents related to safety. Moreover, if employees are forced to finish their work in time, with intensified labor, they may suffer from fatigue and need more hours to recover.

Hence, in conclusion, the author’s claim that reduced working hour may bring about the better productivity seems to depend on insufficient information. In order to provide better alternative, the author should provide further evidence that is relevant to the situation at Quiot.