The following appeared in a memorandum from a dean at Omega University.
"Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged
students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega
professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade
averages at Omega have risen by thirty percent. Potential employers apparently believe the
grades at Omega are inflated; this would explain why Omega graduates have not been as
successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its
graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should now terminate student evaluation of
professors."
about the number or percentage of Omega146
students who participate in the procedure. Lacking such evidence it is entirely possible that
those numbers are insignificant, in which case terminating the procedure is unlikely to have
any effect on the grade average of Omega students or their success in getting jobs after
graduation.
The argument also assumes unfairly that the grade-average increase is the result of the
evaluation procedure--rather than some other phenomenon. The dean ignores a host of other
possible explanations for the increase--such as a trend at Omega toward higher admission
standards, or higher quality instruction or facilities. Without ruling out all other possible
explanations for the grade-average increase, the dean cannot convince me that by terminating
the evaluation procedure Omega would curb its perceived grade inflation let alone help its
graduates get jobs.
Even if the evaluation procedure has resulted in grade inflation at Omega, the dean's claim
that grade inflation explains why Omega graduates are less successful than Alpha graduates
in getting jobs is unjustified. The dean overlooks a myriad of other possible reasons for
Omega's comparatively poor job-placement record. Perhaps Omega's career services are
inadequate; or perhaps Omega's curriculum does not prepare students for the job market as
effectively as Alpha's. In short, without accounting for other factors that might contribute to
Omega graduates' comparative lack of success in getting jobs, the dean cannot justify the
claim that if Omega curbs its grade inflation employers will be more likely to hire Omega
graduates.
Finally, even if the dean can substantiate all of the foregoing assumptions, the dean's
assertion that Omega must terminate its evaluation procedure to enable its graduates to find
better jobs is still unwarranted, in two respects. First, the dean ignores other possible ways by
which Omega can increase its job-placement record--for example, by improving its public
relations or career-counseling services. Second, the dean unfairly equates "more" jobs with
"better" jobs. In other words, even if more Omega graduates are able to find jobs as a result of
the dean's recommended course of action, the kinds of jobs Omega graduates find would not
necessarily be better ones.
In sum, the dean's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To strengthen it the dean must
provide better evidence that the increase in grade average is attributable to Omega's
professor-evaluation procedure, and that the end result is a perception on the part of
employers that Omega graduates are less qualified for jobs than Alpha graduates. To better
assess the argument I would need to analyze 15-year trends in (l) the percentage of Omega
students participating in the evaluation procedure, (2) Omega's admission standards and
quality of education, and (3) Omega's emphasis on job training and career preparation. I would
also need to know what other means are available to Omega for enabling its graduates to find
better jobs.