The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this writing the author believes that because the firstborn infant monkeys produce more hormone cortisol, hence they are more active than their younger siblings. In this regard, in order to provide more facts to support this conclusion the writer posed that during pregnancy the first time mothers had higher level of cortisol, and in order to support this fact that firstborn monkeys produce more cortisol the writer believe that firstborn humans produce more cortisol too. I think, the author has not been able to support his conclusion via these facts and the author provided unreasonable arguments that I will discuss about in the following paragraphs.

First, the writer stated that recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys showed that in stimulation situations the firstborn infant produce twice as much as their younger siblings. From this fact we cannot conclude that birth order has impact on the level of stimulation, because animals body has complex system and all parts of this system affect one response and if we conclude from just one change in one parts of their body, it will not be scientific results. In this regard, I have to remain that in order to support this conclusion the writer has to provide more facts about other parts of animals' body, and I also believe that just 18 monkeys are not enough number to make scientific conclusion.

In the second part, the writer make analogy between humans' and monkeys' infant that is not scientific comparation, since the mechanism of humans' body and monkeys' body is different, hence we can say humans' infants' body produce more cortisol for other purposes.

In the third part, the writer claimed that because the first mothers had higher level of cortisol than mothers that have more offspring, hence firstborn infants have more cortisol. This, reasons cannot be acceptable, since there is no evidence to show that first mothers' cortisol level has impact on infants' cortisol level. In this regard, may the first mothers' cortisol level leads to decrease infants' cortisol level.

In brief, as I discussed in the previous paragraphs, the writer believes that because the firstborn infants produce more cortisol than their younger siblings, hence they are more active. In contrast, I argued that this conclusion cannot be scientific, since the writer did not provide enough facts for us.